EOPP Indian States Data Base

STICERD, London School of Economics

Politics Variables

Politics variables are derived from statistics of Vidhan Sabha Elections in *India Decides: Elections 1952-1995*, by Butler, Lahiri, and Roy (1995), New Delhi: Books & Things, with updated data taken from the Electoral Commission of India.

Stata Name Of The Variable	Full Name Of The Variable	Years Covered
NO_SEATS	No of seats in the state legislature	
	Vidhan Sabha, the Lower House	1955-2002
NO_CAND	No of candidates in the state legislature	
	Vidhan Sabha, the Lower House	
ELECDUM	=1 if election year	
	=0 otherwise	
TURNOUT	Voter turnout; total votes (valid +	1957-2002
	invalid) as a percentage of electorate	
	size (%)	
INC	No of seats won by Indian National	-
NICH	Congress	
INCU	No of seats won by Indian National	
100	Congress Urs	
ICS	No of seats won by Indian National	
CPI	Congress Socialist No of seats won by Communist Party	
CPI	of India	
СРМ	No of seats won by Communist Party	-
Cr M	of India Marxist	
BJP	No of seats won by Bharatiya Janata	
51	Party (incl. Akhil Bharatiya Ram Rajya	
	Prishad for state 10)	
JD	No of seats won by Janata Dal	
JP	No of seats won by Janata Party	1957-2002 (varies)
LKDP	No of seats won by Lok Pal	1937 2002 (Varies)
PSP	No of seats won by Praja Socialist	-
	Party	
SP	No of seats won by Socialist Party	-
TDP	No of seats won by Telugu Desam	
AGP	No of seats won by Asom Gana	
	Parishad	
JKNC	No of seats won by Jamma & Kashmir	
	National Conference	
SHS	No of seats won by Shiv Sena	
UC	No of seats won by Utkal Congress	
SAD	No of seats won by Shiromani Akali	
	Dal	
DMK	No of seats won by Dravida Munnetra	
	Kazhagam	
R	No of seats won by Progressive	
	Democratic Front	

ОТН	No of seats won by others (missing for state 4-10)	
IND	No of seats won by independents	
CONVOTE	Congress vote, %	
CHIEFMIN	Party of Chief Minister	
PRESRULE	President's Rule (1=yes, 0=no)	