New Year Honours at LSE

Professor Julian Le Grand has been awarded a knighthood for services to social science and public service.

Julian Le Grand has been the Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy at the London School of Economics and Political Science since 1993.  

From 2003 to 2005 he was seconded to No 10 Downing Street to serve as Senior Policy Adviser to the Prime Minister, Tony Blair.

He has served as Chair of a number of government groups, including:

  • Social Work Practices Working Group  for the UK Department for Children, Families and Schools
  • Health England: the National Reference Group for Health and Well Being for the UK Department of Health
  • UK Cabinet Office's Mutuals TaskForce
  • UK Education Department's Panels reviewing Doncaster's and Birmingham's Children's Services

As well as these positions, he has acted as an adviser to the President of the European Commission, the World Bank, the World Health Organisation, the OECD, HM Treasury, the UK Department of Work and Pensions and the BBC.  

Professor Le Grand is a Fellow of the British Academy, a Founding Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences, and a Trustee of the Kings Fund. In 2006 he was awarded an honorary doctorate (D.Litt) by the University of Sussex. In 2012 he was awarded the Eupolis prize for Public Policy by the Eupolis Institute, Milan, and his submission for the Wolfson prize received ‘a special category' prize.

He is the author, co-author or editor of over 20 books, and has written more than 100 refereed journal articles and book chapters on economics, philosophy, and public policy.  He was listed as one of the Guardian's and Prospect’s top British public intellectuals.

Claire Milne has been awarded an MBE for services to the telecommunications sector. 

Ms Milne, a Visiting Senior Fellow in the Department of Media and Communications, has had a long and varied career with telecommunications policy as its central theme. Since 1989 she has been a freelance consultant, providing policy and regulatory advice in dozens of countries on all continents. In parallel she has served on several public bodies in the UK. She has been a guest teacher at LSE since 2009.

Virginia Beardshaw, LSE Governor and Council member, and Chief Executive of I CAN Children’s Charity, has been awarded a CBE for services to Children with Special Needs and Disabilities.

LSE alumni recognised in the New Year Honours include:

Mr John S Atkinson, BEM BA 1961. Medallist of the Order of the British Empire, for services to rugby in Hertfordshire.

Professor Heather Joshi, CBE FBA 1975. Emeritus Professor of Economic and Developmental Demography at the Centre for Longitudinal Studies. Commander of the Order of the British Empire, for services to Longitudinal and Women’s Studies.

Miss Ruth J Lea, CBE 1973. Commander of the Order of the British Empire, for services to the financial and economic sectors.

Dr Carolyn Makinson, CBE BSc Sociology 1976. Former Executive Director of International Rescue Committee UK (IRC UK) and Senior Vice President – Europe for the IRC. Commander of the Order of the British Empire, for services to humanitarian relief programmes.

Sir David E J Ramsden, MSc Economics 1990. Chief Economic Adviser to HM Treasury. Knight Bachelor, for services to economic policy making.

Ms Jenny M Tooth, OBE MSc Social Planning 1980. Chief Executive, UK Business Angels Association. Order of the British Empire, for services to small businesses.

Miss Shaa L Wasmund, MBE BSc International Relations 1994. Digital entrepreneur. Member of the Order of the British Empire, for services to business and entrepreneurship.

Professor Paul Webley, CBE BSc Social Psychology 1976, PhD Psychology 1981.
Director of School for Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London.
Commander of the Order of the British Empire, for services to higher education.

Updated 6 January 2015

Check back later for our latest Twitter updates.

Contact us


LSE Health, Cowdray House, London School of Economics and Political Science, Houghton Street, London WC2A 2AE

Follow us