About_banner_CBR_(1920 × 580 px)

About us

A purpose-built laboratory designed to study human behaviour in a controlled environment.

LSE Behavioural Lab is a world-leading hub for behavioural science research and teaching.

LSE Behavioural Lab is a world-leading hub for behavioural science research and teaching.

What is The LSE Behavioural Lab (BL)?

The LSE Behavioural Lab facilitates world-class behavioural research by providing state-of-the-art facilities for researchers in Central London for LSE academics, students, and external partners.

The BL is a purpose built facility open to any department at LSE (and other institutions) and is co-hosted by the  Department of Management  and the Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science.

Researchers in the past have used the Lab to examine behaviour in various fields, such as behavioural economics, psychology, judgement and decision making, management, marketing, organisational behaviour, behavioural public policy, and behavioural game theory.

We also invite applications and collaborative projects from external partners, including other academic institutions, governmental, international, commercial, and non-profit organisations. 


Our vision is to be a global leader in facilitation of world-class behavioural research and research-led teaching, and to act as a cornerstone of an interdisciplinary community in behavioural science.


Our mission is to provide state-of-the art physical and online facilities for world-class behavioural academic research and teaching, including access to a unique and diverse participant pool suited to testing global interventions of cognition and behaviour.

In line with the LSE mottos “to know the causes of things” “for the betterment of society”, we engage with researchers, organisations, donors and funders, globally, who are motivated to improve the world through better understanding of human behaviour.

BL Team

Dr. Barbara Fasolo

Head of Lab

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science



Dr. Matteo Galizzi

Deputy Head of Lab

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science



 Nino Nizharadze

Research Lab Oversight

Head of Research, Finance and Operations


mt- pic

Dr. Miriam Tresh

Teaching Lab Oversight

Assistant Professorial Lecturer



Sean Rooney

Lab Technician

Scientific Officer and Head of Laboratory Innovation


LSE Behavioural Lab Affiliates

Department of Management

Ravneet Bawa MRes/PhD Candidate in Marketing

Ceylin Petek Ertekin MRes/PhD Candidate in Marketing

Heather Kappes Associate Professor (Education) of Management

Dina Rabie Visiting Fellow

Philipp Schoenegger Research Officer

Nikki Sullivan Assistant Professor of Marketing

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Deema Awad Fellow

Virginia Fedrigo PhD Candidate

Laura Giurge Assistant Professor of Behavioural Science

Benno Guenther PhD Candidate

Ploutarchos Kourtidis Post-doctoral Research Officer

Dario Krpan Assistant Professor of Behavioural Science

Kate Laffan Assistant Professor of Behavioural Science

Veronika Luptáková PhD Candidate

Ganga Shreedhar Assistant Professor of Behavioural Science

Alina Velias LSE Fellow

Hannah Chappell PhD Candidate

Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment

Elisabeth Gsottbauer Assistant Professorial Research Fellow

Department of Methodology

Eleanor Power Associate Professor

Milena Tsvetkova Assistant Professor of Computational Social Science

Department of Social Policy

Andriy Ivchenko PhD Candidate

Department of Health Policy

Ranjeeta Thomas Assistant Professor of Health Economics

External Affiliates

Coming soon!

LSE Advisory Board

Professor Susana Mourato, LSE Vice-President and Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research)

Professor Elizabeth Stokoe, LSE Academic Director of Impact

Dr Lyn Grove, Secretary and Research Governance Manager, LSE Research Ethics Committee

Rachel Baddeley, Associate Director, Leadership Philanthropy, Philanthropy and Global Engagement Division (PAGE)

Professor Sir Tim Besley, School Professor of Economics and Political Science, Department of Economics

Professor Joan Costa-i-Font, Department of Health Policy

Professor Liam Delaney, Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Professor Daniel Gottlieb, Department of Management

Professor Adam Oliver, Department of Social Policy

International Advisory Board

Professor Anna Dreber Almenberg, Johan Bjorkman Professor of Economics, Stockholm School of Economics

Professor John List, Kenneth C Griffin Distinguished Service Professor in Economics, University of Chicago

Professor George Loewenstein, Herbert A Simon University Professor of Economics and Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University

Professor Lucia Reisch, El-Erian Professor of Behavioural Economics & Policy and Director of the El-Erian Institute of Behavioural Economics & Policy, University of Cambridge Judge Business School

Professor Deborah Small, Adrian C Israel Professor of Marketing, Yale School of Management 

Professor Matthias Sutter, Professor of Experimental Economics and Director of the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods, Bonn

Professor Marie Claire Villeval, Research Professor in Economics at the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and Head of GATE-Lab, University of Lyon.

BL Steering Committee (2020-2023)

The BL opened its doors in the highly uncertain times of the COVID-19 pandemics, at the end of 2019. The BL Steering Committee was set up to develop the new BL  strategy and activities and ensure that standards and opportunities were developed to enhance scope and scale of research undertaken at the BL. That strategy is now in place and informs all operations.

 Name Role Department
Kenneth Benoit  Professor of Computational Social Science Methodology 
Anna Getmansky Assistant Professor of International Relations  International Relations
 Lyn Grove Research Governance Manager Research and Innovation
Champa Heidbrink Department Manager  Psychological and Behavioural Science
David Hendry Assistant Professor in Research Methodology  Methodology
 Therese Holmqvist Executive MSc Programme and Behavioural Science Hub Manager  Psychological and Behavioural Science
 Rafael Hortala-Vallve Associate Professor in Public Policy and Administration  Government
 Heather Kappes Assistant Professor of Marketing Management
 Matthew Levy Lecturer in Economics  Economics
David Meech Mazumdar  Department Manager, Strategic Planning & Development Management
Jet Sanders  Assistant Professor in Behavioural Science   Psychological and Behavioural Science

Explore BL