mural for people page

People


LSE Anthropologists are passionate about teaching and strive to maintain a warm and welcoming atmosphere in our department

Academic staff

Catherine Allerton

Professor Catherine Allerton  
Eastern Indonesia, East Malaysia; place and landscape, houses, kinship and marriage, childhood and youth, migration.
c.l.allerton@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.01

Rita Astuti

Professor Rita Astuti
[Director, PhD Academy]
Madagascar; kinship, gender, anthropology of death, cognitive development and cultural transmission; ethnographic and experimental research methods. 
r.astuti@lse.ac.uk 
OLD 6.11

Mukulika-head-shot

Dr Mukulika Banerjee
South Asia; Pakistan and India; political anthropology; election cultures, popular perceptions and democracy; citizenship and ritual; state and civil society; anthro-political histories of South Asia; Islam and Muslim societies; fashion, public culture and modernity; contemporary identity and life histories.
m.banerjee@lse.ac.uk 
OLD 5.09

LB Profile 072019

Professor Laura Bear FBA
[Head of Department]
South Asia; anthropologies of the economy; state; infrastructures, time.
l.bear@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.07

female silhouette

Dr Fenella Cannell
Lowland Philippines, United States; anthropology of Christianity, healing and mediumship, gender, Mormonism and kinship.
f.cannell@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6494
OLD 5.07

Clara Devlieger 200x200

Dr Clara Devlieger
Democratic Republic of Congo, Central Africa, disability, rights and responsibilities, identity and difference, distribution and welfare, personhood, humour, moralities and judgement, urban anthropology, borders, uncertainty
c.devlieger@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.08

Yazan Doughan profile

Dr Yazan Doughan
Jordan; the Middle East; corruption; social movements; social justice; human rights; precarity; welfare; the state; bureaucracy; law; ethical life; temporality; critique; postcoloniality; semiotics; language and culture; religion and secularism.
y.doughan@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.16

Katy Gardner 2020

Professor Katy Gardner
Bangladesh; globalisation, migration, economic change. 
k.j.gardner@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.12

James

Professor Deborah James FBA
South Africa; the UK; ethnography of advice; aspiration and indebtedness; civil society, citizenship and the state; economic anthropology; ethnomusicology; land reform and property regimes; migration and ethnicity.
d.a.james@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.06

Insa Koch

Dr Insa Koch
UK; Europe; political and legal anthropology; political economy; citizenship; state; class;  social housing; criminal justice; welfare state; politics; social reproduction; social theory.
i.l.koch@lse.ac.uk
NAB 7.17

Nicholas Long

Dr Nick Long
Indonesia and the Malay World; political change; psychological anthropology; affect; history and memory; achievement and motivation; education; the supernatural.
n.j.long@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6757
OLD 1.10

MathijsPelkmans

Professor Mathijs Pelkmans
Caucasus (Republic of Georgia), Central Asia (Kyrgyz Republic); anthropology of borders, political anthropology, anthropology of religion.
m.e.pelkmans@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.08

Andrea Pia profile February 2019

Dr Andrea Pia 
China; law; collective action; water; common-pool resources; political economy; political ecology; development; critical agrarian studies; environmental humanities; environmental justice; prefigurative politics; rural sociology; infrastructure; digital ethnography; public anthropology; open access.
a.e.pia@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.09

MichaelScott

Dr Michael W. Scott
Oceania; Melanesia; anthropological approaches to questions of being (ontology); cosmology; religion; wonder; myth-making; indigenous Christianities; personhood, sociality, and relatedness; place-making; ethnogenesis. 
m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.17

AlpaShah-Profile

Professor Alpa Shah
India and Nepal; political and economic anthropology; the state, citizenship and revolutionary struggle; indigeneity, ethnicity, caste and class; agrarian transitions and labour; inequality and poverty.
a.m.shah@lse.ac.uk

Charles Stafford

Professor Charles Stafford FBA
Pro-Director Faculty Development (PDFD) and Professor of Anthropology
China, Taiwan and the USA; learning; schooling and child development; cognitive anthropology; the relationship between learning and economic life.
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk
CBG.11.10

hans_steinmuller

Dr Hans Steinmüller
China; political and economic anthropology, moralities and ethics, irony, ritual, gambling.
j.steinmuller@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.10

HarryWalker

Dr Harry Walker 
Amazonia, Latin America; subjectivity, shamanism, political morality, individualism, justice, happiness, the commons.
h.l.walker@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.06B

Gisa Weszkalnys

Dr Gisa Weszkalnys
Anthropology of the economy, corporations, expertise; resource extraction; state (urban) planning; temporality, materiality, and affect; Europe, US, lusophone Africa
OLD 6.13
g.weszkalnys@lse.ac.uk

Administrative staff

General enquiries: 
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

Assessment enquiries (current students): 
anthro.admin@lse.ac.uk

As far as possible, the administrative staff in the department operate an "open door" policy: if one of us is not here, the others will try to help. 

Ms Yanina Hinrichsen
Departmental Manager
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7202 
OLD 6.03

Ms Chloe Davies 
Administrative Officer (Quality Assurance and Year Abroad)
C.Davies7@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5867
OLD 6.04A

Mr Tomas Hinrichsen
Administrative Officer (Research)
[Monday and Wednesday]
t.a.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 6775
OLD 6.06A 

Mr James Johnston
Administrative Officer (Exams and Assessments)
j.e.johnston@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7107 5037
OLD 6.04A 

Ms Renata Todd
Administration and Communications Officer
anthropology.enquiries@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7852 3709
OLD 6.04A

Research and LSE Fellows

Becky Bowers Profile

Dr Rebecca Bowers [LSE fellow]
India; UK; gender; informal labour; the household; inequality; precarity; Covid-19; labour migration; pragmatism.
r.e.bowers@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.17A

Gregory

Dr Grégory Deshoullière [Postdoctoral research fellow]
Amazonia, Ecuador, Latin America; linguistic and political anthropology; shamanism, witchcraft, sorcery; morality, justice, conflict; state, ethnicity and cultural heritage; writing, personhood and history; theories of social changes.
g.a.deshoulliere@lse.ac.uk

Jan David Hauk

Dr Jan David Hauck [Newton International fellow]
Lowland South America; Paraguay; hunter-gatherers; language socialization; anthropology of childhood; ethics and morality; cooperation; phenomenology; conversation analysis; narrative; language ideologies; language contact and change.
jandavidhauck(at)protonmail.com
OLD 6.06A

Megan Laws 22 x 200

Dr Megan Laws [LSE fellow]
Namibia, Botswana, South Africa; informal economies and egalitarianism; communal lands, biodiversity, and climate change; trust and uncertainty; shamanism; language; digital ethnography; citizen science.
m.laws1@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.13

William Matthews profile pic

Dr William Matthews [LSE fellow]
China (contemporary and Warring States to Han); cosmology; divination; cognition; cultural transmission; empire; ontology; comparison; politics of knowledge.
w.matthews1@lse.ac.uk
OLD 1.16 

Fuad Musallam 200 x 200

Dr Fuad Musallam [LSE fellow]
Middle East; Lebanon; activism; social movements; political subjectivity; migrant and precarious labour organising; time and temporality; affect and emotion; narrative and storytelling; the political imagination; space and the city; participatory archiving.
f.m.musallam@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.06B

Guilio headshot v 4

Dr Giulio Ongaro [ESRC fellow]
Laos; upland Southeast Asia; medical anthropology; shamanism; animism; ritual efficacy; placebo effects; magic; healing; rationality; global history of medicine; history of science; cognitive science; philosophy of mind.
g.ongaro@lse.ac.uk

Nikita Simpson profile

Dr Nikita Simpson [Postdoctoral research officer]
India, South Asia, UK, Southern Africa, Anthropology of health and mental health, HIV and Sexual and Reproductive Health, Digital health, Feminist anthropology and economies of care, Inequalities and stigmas of tribe, ethnicity, caste and class, Covid-19 pandemic policy, Participatory and co-design methods.
n.simpson@lse.ac.uk

 

Christopher Webb profile cropped

Dr Christopher Webb
[Canadian Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Postdoctoral research fellow]
South Africa; labour and livelihoods; financial inclusion; cash transfers; economic geography; childhood and youth; urban im/mobilities; higher education in Africa; debt; land reform.
christopherwebb123@gmail.com

Teo Zidaru profile

Dr Teodor Zidaru [LSE fellow]
Kenya; East Africa; UK; trust; emotion; religion; welfare; microfinance and financial inclusion; redistributive politics; patronage and the state; linguistic and economic anthropology; the anthropology of technology, big data and machine-learning.
t.m.zidaru-barbulescu@lse.ac.uk
OLD 5.06A

 

Visiting staff

Karin Barber 200x200

Professor Karin Barber [Centennial Professor]
Yoruba, Western Nigeria: Anthropology of texts, performance, popular culture, Yoruba language, print culture, oral genres, religion
k.barber1@lse.ac.uk

Eona Bell

Dr Eona Bell [Visiting fellow]
Chinese diaspora/ Overseas Chinese; Hong Kong; Britain; childhood and childcare; race and ethnicity; migration; diversity and inclusion
emb91@cam.ac.uk

Harriet Evans

Professor Harriet Evans  [Visiting Professor]
Gender and sexuality; feminist movements of the twentieth century; political posters, visual culture and legacies of the Mao era; oral history, memory and urban neighbourhood life; localities, cultural transmission and gendered contestations of heritage.
h.evans5@lse.ac.uk

Nick Evans

Dr Nicholas Evans [Visiting fellow]
South Asia; India; Islam; leadership and hierarchy; ethics; doubt and uncertainty
n.h.evans@lse.ac.uk

Ida Hartmann

Dr Ida Hartmann [Visiting fellow]
Turkey, Islam, the state, secularism, political contestation, suspicion, sincerity, intimacy
ida.hartmann@anthro.ku.dk

 

Yan Hu

Dr Yan Hu [Visiting fellow]
Dai people along Sino-Burmese Border, Southwest China, Globalization and Cosmopolitanism
y.hu63@lse.ac.uk

 

Luke Heslop

Dr Luke Heslop [Visiting fellow]
South Asia; trade and mercantile kinship; infrastructure and connectivity; political economy
l.heslop@lse.ac.uk

Loretta Lou

Dr Loretta Lou [Visiting fellow]
Environment, well-being, morality and ethics, social movements, responsibility, victimhood, technologies of the self, China, Hong Kong.
l.lou@lse.ac.uk

Miriam Madsen profile pic

Dr Miriam Madsen [Visiting fellow]
Higher education, quantification, governance and administration of public education, performance indicators, budgeting, accounting.
mirm@edu.au.dk

Chloe Nahum-Claudel

Dr Chloe Nahum-Claudel [Visiting fellow]
Brazil and Papua New Guinea; indigenous diplomacy; ritual innovation; technology and livelihood; kinship; semiotics and evolution; witchcraft; torture; postcolonial and feminist theory.
c.nahum-claudel@lse.ac.uk
OLD 6.06A

Doris Okenwa

Dr Doris Okenwa [Visiting fellow]
East and West Africa; political economy; African politics; development; natural resources and the extractives industry; distributive politics; inequalities; social mobility and social movements of economic inclusion; livelihoods; pastoralism and “informal” economies; visual anthropology.
d.a.okenwa@lse.ac.uk

Charlie Rumsby

Dr Charlie Rumsby [Visiting fellow]
Mainland Southeast Asia, indentity, belonging, children and youth, statelessness, visual methodologies 
c.m.rumsby@lse.ac.uk 

Zimran Samuel 2019 pic

Zimran Samuel [Visiting fellow]
Children law, mental health law, public international law
z.samuel@lse.ac.uk
z.samuel@doughtystreet.co.uk

Marina Sapritsky Nahum new profile

Dr Marina Sapritsky-Nahum [Visiting Fellow]
The former Soviet-Union; Ukraine; Jewish identity; religious revival and transformation of traditions; ethnicity; philanthropy, migration and return migration.
m.sapritsky@lse.ac.uk

Mitch Sedgwick

Dr Mitchell W Sedgwick  [Senior visiting fellow]
Japan (mainland SE Asia, France, Tex-Mex border); economic anthropology, globalisation; anthropology of organisations, multinational corporations, cross-cultural relations/ethnicity and work; minorities and marginality in Japan; disaster anthropology, post-tsunami Japan.
m.sedgwick@lse.ac.uk

Branwen Spector

Dr Branwen Spector [Visiting fellow]
Palestine/Israel, settlement, infrastructure, mobility, methods
b.spector@lse.ac.uk



 

Imani Strong profile

Dr Imani Strong [Visiting fellow]
Racial inequality; bureaucracy; entrepreneurship; political and legal anthropology
i.strong@lse.ac.uk

Kelzang Tashi profile

Dr Kelzang Tashi [Visiting fellow]
South Asia, Bhutan, and the Himalayas; social change; religion and ritual syncretism; kinship and social organisation; religious ecology; education.
k.tashi@lse.ac.uk

Lucy Trotter profile

Dr Lucy Trotter [Visiting fellow]
Patagonia, Music; Welsh Patagonia; subjectivity; performance; power; inclusion.
l.e.trotter@lse.ac.uk 

 

Retired academic staff

MauriceBloch

Professor Maurice Bloch
Madagascar; religion and politics, cognition and culture, kinship.
m.e.bloch@lse.ac.uk

stephan-feuchtwang

Professor Stephan Feuchtwang
China and Taiwan, Germany; Chinese popular religion, the anthropology of history, life stories, family myths and responses to catastrophic loss, comparison of civilisations and empires.
s.feuchtwang@lse.ac.uk

female silhouette

Professor Jean La Fontaine
East Africa, United Kingdom; kinship, children, incest, ritual, witchcraft and Satanism.
j.la-fontaine@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7708 4496

chris-fuller

Professor Chris Fuller
South Asia; India and Hinduism, South Indian temples, religion and politics, globalisation and information technology, Tamil Brahman society and history.
c.fuller@lse.ac.uk

female silhouette

Professor Martha Mundy
Arab societies; law, agrarian systems, sociology of Islam, historical anthropology, kinship.
m.mundy@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Professor Jonathan Parry
South Asia; sociology of Hinduism, caste and other forms of inequality, industrialisation, labour and the anthropology of work.
j.p.parry@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Dr James Woodburn
Sub-Saharan Africa; hunting and gathering societies, egalitarian political systems.
james@woodburn.org.uk

Current research students

Read a detailed list of current research students.

Student Representatives 2021/22

Undergraduate Programmes

 

male-silhouette

Yisrael Arthur
BA Anthropology and Law, 3rd year
Y.Arthur@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Yinka Daniel
BA Anthropology and Law, 3rd year
O.M.Daniels@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Faye Mahon
BA/ BSc Social Anthropology, 3rd year
F.Mahon@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Eliana Radaelli
BA/ BSc Social Anthropology, 3rd year
E.J.Radaelli@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Ted Bell
BA Anthropology & Law, 2nd year
E.A.Bell@lse.ac.uk 

 

male-silhouette

Hassan Kazmi
BA Anthropology & Law, 2nd year
H.A.Kazmi@lse.ac.uk 

 

male-silhouette

Cherie Kwong
BA Anthropology & Law, 2nd year
K.Y.Kwong@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Ariana Xiao
BA/ BSc Social Anthropology, 2nd year
Z.Xiao12@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Sameera Anand
BA Anthropology & Law, 1st year
S.Anand10@lse.ac.uk  

 

male-silhouette

Erik Birinyi
BA Anthropology & Law, 1st year
E.Birinyi@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Divyana Jethwa 
BA Anthropology & Law, 1st year
d.jethwa@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Grace Asher
BA/ BSc Social Anthropology, 1st year 
g.r.asher@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Lucy Bernard
BA/ BSc Social Anthropology, 1st year 
l.bernard1@lse.ac.uk

 


Postgraduate Programmes

 

male-silhouette

Ingrid Cheung
MSc Anthropology and Development 
Y.Cheung8@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Nicholas Puleo
MSc Anthropology and Development 
n.f.puleo@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Ginevra Bosa
MSc Anthropology and Development Management
g.bosa@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Vaishally Shah
MSc Anthropology and Development Management
v.shah10@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Ruiyang Hu 
MSc China in Comparative Perspective 
R.Hu6@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Leyla Akin 
MSc Social Anthropology 
l.akin@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Johannes Bay 
MSc Social Anthropology 
j.bay1@lse.ac.uk

male-silhouette

Eleanor Irving 
MSc Social Anthropology 
e.k.irving@lse.ac.uk

 


MRes/PhD  Anthropology

 

male-silhouette

Kathy Harrison
MRes Anthropology 
K.Harrison3@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Charlotte Ramble
PhD Anthropology
C.D.Ramble@lse.ac.uk

 

male-silhouette

Laura Stahl
PhD Anthropology
L.A.Stahl@lse.ac.uk