People

People

Teaching faculty

2022/23

Permanent academic staff

Alvandi3

Dr Roham Alvandi
Associate Professor
*on Sabbatical leave 2022-23*

Research interests:
Iran, US in the World, Global Cold War

Room: SAR.M.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6897
Email: r.alvandi@lse.ac.uk



ashton1

Professor Nigel Ashton
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Coordinator of Teaching and Learning

Research interests:
Anglo-American Relations; Modern Middle-East

Room: SAR.M.07
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7104
Email: n.ashton@lse.ac.uk



Professor Marc David Baer

Professor Marc David Baer
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Deputy Head of Department

Research interests:
Early Modern and Modern Europe and Middle East; Ottoman Empire,Turkey; Germany

Room: SAR.3.17 
Email: m.d.baer@lse.ac.uk



Dr Antony Best

Professor Antony Best
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Masters Tutor

Research interests:
Modern East Asian History; Modern Japan

Room: SAR.3.14
Email: a.best@lse.ac.uk



Anna Cant

Dr Anna Cant
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Mass communication; Modern Latin American History; Rural Development

Room: SAR.3.12
Email: a.cant1@lse.ac.uk



casey

Professor Steven Casey
Professor of International History

Other titles:
REF Coordinator

Research interests:
20th-Century United States

Room: SAR.2.10
Email: s.casey@lse.ac.uk



Gusejnova

Dr Dina Gusejnova
Assistant Professor

Other titles: 
Coordinator of BA/BSc Dissertations (HY300)LSE-Columbia University Double MSc in International and World History Programme Director; International Partnerships

Research Interests:
Modern European History; Intellectual and Cultural History; History and Social Theory

Room: SAR.M.14
Email: d.gusejnova@lse.ac.uk



Harmer

Dr Tanya Harmer
Associate Professor
*on Sabbatical leave 2022-23*

Research Interests:
Latin America; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.11
Email: t.harmer@lse.ac.uk



hochstrasser

Dr Tim Hochstrasser
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Undergraduate Programmes Director

Research interests:
Early Modern History; the Enlightenment; Intellectual History

Room: SAR.2.14
Email: t.hochstrasser@lse.ac.uk



Ingleson

Dr Elizabeth Ingleson
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Alumni & Careers; Student Survey Coordinator

Research interests:
United States History; Chinese History; Trade; Labour; Diplomacy; Multinational Corporations

Room: SAR.2.06
Email: e.ingleson@lse.ac.uk



matthewjones

Professor Matthew Jones
Professor of International History

Other titles:
PhD Programme Director and Admissions Advisor; Research Student Seminars 1st year (HY501)

Research interests:
British Foreign and Defence Policy since the Second World War; Nuclear History during the Cold War; Vietnam War; British Decolonisation and South East Asia; US Foreign Relations since 1941; Anglo-American Relations

Room: SAR.3.09
Email: m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk



keenan

Dr Paul Keenan
Assistant Professor
 *on Sabbatical leave 2022-23*

Research interests:
Cultural History of 18th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.2.13
Email: p.keenan@lse.ac.uk



Lewis1

Dr Joanna Lewis
Associate Professor
*on Sabbatical leave 2022-23*

Research interests:
Modern African History

Room: SAR.G.02
Email: j.e.lewis1@lse.ac.uk



Professor Piers Ludlow

Professor N. Piers Ludlow
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Head of Department; Coordinator of International Partnerships

Research interests:
Western Europe since 1945; European Integration; Cold War Transatlantic Relations; Britain in the EC/EU

Room: SAR.2.16
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7099
Email: n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk



Motadel

Dr David Motadel
Associate Professor
*on Leave 2022-23*

Research interests:
Modern Europe; Europe’s Relations with the Wider World

Room: SAR.3.16
Email: d.motadel@lse.ac.uk



RonPo

Dr Ronald C. Po
Associate Professor

Other titles:
LSE–Peking University Double MSc in International Affairs Programme Director

Research interests:
History of China; Hong Kong and Taiwan Studies; Maritime History; Sino-British Relations; History of Cartography; Frontier Studies; Global History

Room: SAR.2.18
Email: c.y.po@lse.ac.uk



Prazmowska

Professor Anita Prazmowska
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Third year Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Modern Eastern Europe

Room: SAR.M.09
Email: a.j.prazmowska@lse.ac.uk



preston

Professor Paul Preston
School Professor for the Department of International History

Research Interests:
Spanish History

Room: SAR.1.02.A
Email: p.preston@lse.ac.uk



Rajak1

Dr Svetozar Rajak
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Masters Programmes Director (School liaison inquiries); Senior Fellow at LSE IDEAS; Second year Undergraduate Tutor

Research interests:
Cold War; Eastern Europe; Balkans

Room: SAR.3.15
Email: s.rajak@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Dr Jake Subryan Richards
Assistant Professor
*on Leave LT 2023*

Research interests:
African Diaspora, Legal History, West Africa, Latin America, Caribbean

Room: SAR.2.08
Email: j.richards@lse.ac.uk



SchulzeA

Dr Kirsten E. Schulze
Associate Professor

Other titles:
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Chair, MSc International and Asian History Programme Director;

Research interests:
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Indonesian History; Militant Islam; Ethnic and Communal Conflict; Insurgency and Counter-Insurgency in Southeast Asia

Room: SAR.2.12
Email: k.e.schulze@lse.ac.uk



sherman

Professor Taylor C. Sherman
Professor of International History
*on sabbatical leave 2022/23*

Research interests:
Modern South Asian History

Room: SAR.M.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5002
Email: t.c.sherman@lse.ac.uk



Sood

Dr Gagandeep S. Sood
Associate Professor

Other titles:
First year Undergraduate Tutor; MA in History Programme Director

Research interests:
The Mughal, Safavid and Ottoman Empires; Early Modern Globalisation; Transition to Colonialism in the Middle East and South Asia

Room: SAR.2.07
Email: g.sood1@lse.ac.uk



Spohr1

Professor Aino Rosa Kristina Spohr
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Undergraduate Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Germany Post-1945; Summit Diplomacy; Global Cold War Exits; World Order & Strategy; Arctic Affairs

Room: SAR.2.17
Email: k.spohr@lse.ac.uk



stock

Dr Paul Stock
Associate Professor

Other titles: 
Masters Examinations Board Chair

Research interests:
Intellectual and Cultural History; Long Eighteenth Century; Britain; Idea of Europe; Spatial History; History of Cartography; Travel and Tourism

Room: SAR.2.15
Email: p.stock@lse.ac.uk



Dr Imaobong Umoren

Dr Imaobong Umoren
Associate Professor
*on Research Leave MT 2023-ST 2024*

Research interests:
Race and Gender in the Caribbean; 19th and 20th Century Wider African Diaspora

Room: SAR.G.04
Email: i.umoren@lse.ac.uk



yin

Dr Qingfei Yin
Assistant Professor

Other titles:
Cumberland Lodge Weekend Event Organiser; Undergraduate Programmes Admissions Advisor

Research interests:
Cold War; China; Vietnam; China-Southeast Asia Relations; Borderlands

Room: SAR.M.06
Email: q.yin@lse.ac.uk



Zubok

Professor Vladislav Zubok
Professor of International History

Other titles:
Research Committee Chair

Research interests:
Cold War; 20th-Century Russia

Room: SAR.3.13
Email: v.m.zubok@lse.ac.uk

Teaching fellows and visiting staff

zarbadegan

Dr Zeinab Azarbadegan
BA Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interests:
Modern Middle East, Ottoman Empire, Iraq, Iran

Room: TBD
Email: z.a.azarbadegan@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Constantin Goschler 200x200

Professor Constantin Goschler
Visiting Professor

Research interests:
German and European history in the 20th century, restitution transformation of societies after dictatorships, history of intelligence and biopolitics.

Room: SAR 2.13
Email: TBD

 


 

gujral

Dr Diva Gujral
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Postcolonial India; History of Art; Global Modernism; the Cultural Cold War

Room: SAR M.10
Email: d.gujral@lse.ac.uk

 


 

lieven

Professor Dominic Lieven
Visiting Professor and Chair of The Paulsen Programme at LSE

Research interests:
Russian History

Room: SAR.1.03G
Email: d.lieven@lse.ac.uk



photiadou

Dr Artemis Photiadou
LSE Fellow

Research interests:
Britain, Germany, Europe, Nazism, WWII, Intelligence, Digital History

Room: SAR M.13
Email: a.photiadou@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Shah

Dr Zahra Shah
British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

Research interests:
South Asia, Early Modern South Asia, Colonial India; Cultural History

Room: SAR M.11
Email
: Z.Shah@lse.ac.uk



shamgunova

Dr Nailya Shamgunova
LSE Teaching Fellow

Research interests:
Queer History, Early Modern History, Travel and Encounter

Room: SAR G.02
Email
: N.Shamgunova@lse.ac.uk

Graduate teaching assistants and guest teachers

razak1

Dr Rowena Abdul Razak
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY440 - The Iranian Revolution

Room: TBD
Email: r.binti-abdul-razak@lse.ac.uk



alqaiwani

Dr Sara al-Qaiwani
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY328 -The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Nationalism, Territory, Religion

Room: TBD
Email:
s.j.alqaiwani@lse.ac.uk



Mehmet Aydemir

Mehmet Akif Aydemir
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY243: Islamic Empire,1400-1800

Room: TBD
Email: TBD



Bhattacharya-1x1

Medha Bhattacharya
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY120: Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBD
Email: 
M.Bhattacharya1@lse.ac.uk


 

Rachel Chua

Rachel Chua
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
HY235 - Modernity and the State in East Asia: China, Japan and Korea since 1840

Room: TBD
Email: TBD

 


 

coffey

Dr Rosalind Coffey
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBD
Email
: r.s.coffey@lse.ac.uk


 

Pedro Correa Martin-Arroyo

Pedro Correa Martin-Arroyo
Guest Teacher 

Teaching:
HY206 The International History of the Cold War, 1945-1989

Room: TBD
Email
: TBD

 


 

ProfileMale

Dr Alexandre Dab
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
TBD

Room:TBD
Email:
a.dab@lse.ac.uk


 

eaton

Charlotte Eaton

Teaching:
HY120 Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBD
Email: c.eaton@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Sinan Ekim

Sinan Ekim

Teaching:
HY113 From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBD
Email: s.ekim@lse.ac.uk 

 

 


 

Giannakopoulos

Dr Georgios Giannakopoulos
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY400 - Crisis Decision-Making in War and Peace 1914-2003

Room: TBD
Email: g.giannakopoulos@lse.ac.uk



gohel

Dr Sajjan Gohel
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY435 - Political Islam: From Ibn Taymiyya to ISIS

Room: TBD
Email
: s.m.gohel@lse.ac.uk



ProfileMale

Milo Gough
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY120 - Historical Approaches to the Modern World

Room: TBD
Email:
m.w.gough@lse.ac.uk



Graglia

Dr Giovanni Graglia
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: LSE LIFE
Email
: g.graglia@lse.ac.uk


 

green-caroline-200x200

Dr Caroline Green
Guest Teacher

Teaching: TBD

Room: TBD
Email
c.green@lse.ac.uk

 


 

harder

Dr Anton Harder
Guest Teacher

Research interests:
International History; Chinese History; Indian History; Sino-Indian Relations; Cold War

Room: SAR.M.13
Email: a.harder@lse.ac.uk

 


Hawn

Jeff Hawn
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY116 International Politics since 1914: Peace and War

Room: TBD
Email
j.s.hawn@lse.ac.uk

 


 

janega

Dr Eleanor Janega
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBD
Email
: e.janega@lse.ac.uk



kozdra

Jan Kozdra
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching:
HY242 - The Soviet Union: Domestic, International and Intellectual History

Room: TBD
Email
: j.r.kozdra@lse.ac.uk



Lo

Yui Chim Lo
Guest Teacher 

Teaching:
HY113 - From Empire to Independence: The Extra-European World in the Twentieth Century

Room: TBD
Email
:TBD



konstantinamaragkou

Dr Konstantina Maragkou
Guest Teacher

Teaching: 
TBD

RoomSAR1.02A
Email
K.Maragkou@lse.ac.uk



mitchell

Dr William Mitchell
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY116 - International Politics since 1914: Peace and War
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBD
Email
: w.h.mitchell@lse.ac.uk



 

Palmer

Daniele Giuseppe Palmer
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY118 - Faith, Power and Revolution: Europe and the Wider World, c.1500-c.1800

Room: TBD
Email
: TBD

 


 

papageorgiou

Agis Papageorgiou 
Guest Teacher

Teaching:
HY245 - The United States and the World since 1776

Room: TBD
Email
: TBD



ProfileMale

Ben Sayle
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Teaching :
HY116 - International History since 1890

Room: TBD
Email
: b.sayle1@lse.ac.uk